IDRC Doctoral Research Awards for Developing Countries, 2016

Application Deadline: The application deadline is May 18, 2016.

DRC Doctoral Research Awards are open for Canadians, permanent residents of Canada, and citizens of developing countries at a Canadian university. IDRC Doctoral Research Awards (IDRAs) support research aligned with IDRC’s mandate and thematic priorities.


The International Development Research Centre is a Canadian federal Crown corporation that invests in knowledge, innovation, and solutions to improve lives and livelihoods in the developing world.

IDRC Doctoral Research Awards are intended to promote the growth of Canadian and developing country capacity in research to improve the lives of people in the developing world.

Applicant must have good knowledge of English or French (Canada’s two official languages).

Course Level: Awards are available for pursuing research programme.

Study Subject: IDRC Doctoral Research Awards (IDRAs) support research aligned with IDRC’s mandate and thematic priorities. Proposed research must fit within the priorities of the Agriculture and Environment, Inclusive Economies, or Technology and Innovation program areas as set out in this document.

Scholarship Award: The award will cover justifiable field research expenses up to CA$20,000. The budget covers one return trip from Canada to the developing country of research. It also covers housing, food, insurance, travel within the country (ies), and several field research expenses. The award does not support expenses related to your relatives, spouse, or children.

Scholarship can be taken at: Canada (doctoral studies at a Canadian university) and one or more developing countries (field research).

Eligibility: To be eligible, applicant must meet the following requirements:
-Be a citizen or permanent resident of Canada, or a citizen of a developing country.
-Be enrolled at a Canadian university at the doctoral level
-Research proposal must be approved by applicants thesis supervisor.
-Proposed field research must take place in one or more developing countries and be conducted for a doctoral dissertation.
-Must provide evidence of affiliation with an institution or organization in the developing region(s) in which the research will take place.
-Must have completed coursework and passed comprehensive exams before taking up the award.
-May not be in receipt of two or more active IDRC awards at the same time. No time overlaps will be permitted.

Nationality: Applicants from Canada and developing countries can apply for these Awards.

List of Countries: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African, Republic Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea, Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico,  Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe

College Admission Requirement

Entrance Requirement: Applicant must have previous degree.

Test Requirement: No

English Language Requirement: Applicant must have good knowledge of English or French (Canada’s two official languages).

Developing Countries

Supporting Material: Applicants must upload scanned copies of the following documents:
-Research Proposal
-Letter of Affiliation
-Letter of Approval from Research Supervisor
-Official Transcripts
-Proof of Citizenship/Permanent Residency
-Application form to be filled online (includes the budget)
-Two references to be filled online

How to Apply: To apply, applicant must complete the eligibility and application forms online.

Application Form

Application Deadline: The application deadline is May 18, 2016.

Scholarship Link